Mini-Forest Revolution : Using the Miyawaki Method to Rapidly Rewild the World

Mini-Forest Revolution : Using the Miyawaki Method to Rapidly Rewild the World

Description

'Hannah Lewis describes a gift to a despairing world. . . . There may be no single climate solution that has a greater breadth of benefits than mini-forests. . . [and] can be done by everyone everywhere.' Paul Hawken, from the foreword

For readers who enjoyed Finding the Mother Tree and The Hidden Life of Trees comes the first-ever book about a movement to restore biodiversity in our cities and towns by flipping empty lots, backyards and degraded land into mini-forests.

In Mini-Forest Revolution, Lewis presents the Miyawaki Method, a unique approach to reforestation devised by Japanese botanist Akira Miyawaki. She explains how tiny forests as small as six parking spaces grow quickly and are much more biodiverse than those planted by conventional methods. She explores the science behind why Miyawaki-style mini-forests work and the myriad environmental benefits, including: cooling urban heat islands, establishing wildlife corridors, building soil health, sequestering carbon, creating pollinator habitats, and more.

Today, the Miyawaki Method is witnessing a worldwide surge in popularity. Lewis shares the stories of mini-forests that have sprung up across the globe and the people who are planting them from a young forest along the concrete alley of the Beirut River in Lebanon, to a backyard forest planted by tiny-forest champion Shubhendu Sharma in India.

This inspiring book offers a revolutionary approach to planting trees and a truly accessible solution to the climate crisis that can be implemented by communities, classrooms, cities, clubs, and families everywhere.

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 1733686622
ISBN 13: 9781733686624

17 Mar 2022
Joel Salatin

ISBN 10: 0143136976
ISBN 13: 9780143136972

21 Sep 2021
Paul Hawken

ISBN 10: 052565609X
ISBN 13: 9780525656098

04 May 2021
Suzanne Simard

ISBN 10: 1603585079
ISBN 13: 9781603585071

20 Oct 2014
Ken Mudge

ISBN 10: 3836578182
ISBN 13: 9783836578189

12 May 2022
Julian Watson

ISBN 10: 160358563X
ISBN 13: 9781603585637

27 Jul 2015
Tao Orion

ISBN 10: 1472137868
ISBN 13: 9781472137869

10 Oct 2019
Lily Bernheimer

ISBN 10: 0857839195
ISBN 13: 9780857839190

01 Jun 2021
Lisa Dawson

ISBN 10: 1642831654
ISBN 13: 9781642831658

29 Jun 2021
Chris Bruntlett

ISBN 10: 0865718431
ISBN 13: 9780865718432

27 Jun 2017
Lydia Doleman

ISBN 10: 1911344978
ISBN 13: 9781911344971

02 Jun 2022
Thalia Verkade

ISBN 10: 0500021422
ISBN 13: 9780500021422

19 Mar 2019
Dominic Bradbury