Code Name: Lise : The True Story of the Woman Who Became World War II's Most Highly Decorated Spy

Code Name: Lise : The True Story of the Woman Who Became World War II's Most Highly Decorated Spy

Description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
A Goodreads Choice Awards semifinalist
Florida Book Awards Silver Medalist
Featured in The New York Times, The Atlantic, Time, New York Newsday, and on Today!
Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019--Woman's Day
The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year--BookBub
"A nonfiction thriller."--The Wall Street Journal

From New York Times and international bestselling author of the "gripping" (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion's Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II--perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls.

The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father's footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill.

As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris's Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues.

In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love--of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing "nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel" (Parade).

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 0735225311
ISBN 13: 9780735225312

01 Aug 2020
Sonia Purnell

ISBN 10: 1611452317
ISBN 13: 9781611452310

17 Nov 2011
William Stevenson

ISBN 10: 0806540389
ISBN 13: 9780806540382

25 Feb 2021
Tim Brady

ISBN 10: 0451495098
ISBN 13: 9780451495099

17 Mar 2020
Sarah Rose

ISBN 10: 0752883534
ISBN 13: 9780752883533

07 Aug 2008
Ian Rankin

ISBN 10: 0316352543
ISBN 13: 9780316352543

02 Oct 2018
Liza Mundy

ISBN 10: 1542021669
ISBN 13: 9781542021661

17 Dec 2019
Russell Braddon

ISBN 10: 198214386X
ISBN 13: 9781982143862

01 Apr 2021
Larry Loftis

ISBN 10: 159921072X
ISBN 13: 9781599210728

13 Jul 2008
Judith Pearson

ISBN 10: 0062430513
ISBN 13: 9780062430519

28 Aug 2018
Jason Fagone

ISBN 10: 0812985036
ISBN 13: 9780812985030

03 Mar 2020
Lynne Olson

ISBN 10: 1728230926
ISBN 13: 9781728230924

03 Sep 2021
Mari K. Eder