Last Mission to Tokyo : The Extraordinary Story of the Doolittle Raiders and Their Final Fight for Justice

Last Mission to Tokyo : The Extraordinary Story of the Doolittle Raiders and Their Final Fight for Justice

Description

A thrilling narrative that introduces a key but underreported moment in World War II: The Doolitte Raids and the international war crimes trial in 1945 that defined Japanese-American relations and changed legal history.

In 1942, freshly humiliated from the attack on Pearl Harbor, the United States was in search of a plan. President Roosevelt, determined to show the world that our nation would not be intimidated or defeated by enemy powers, he demanded recommendations for a show of strength. Jimmy Doolittle, a stunt pilot with a doctorate from MIT, came forward, and led eighty young men, gathered together from the far-flung corners of Depression-era America, on a seemingly impossible mission across the Pacific. Sixteen planes in all, they only had enough fuel for a one-way trip. Together, the Raiders, as they were called, did what no one had successfully done for more than a thousand years. They struck the mainland of Japan and permanently turned the tide of the war in the Pacific.

Almost immediately, The Doolittle Raid captured the public imagination, and has remained a seminal moment in World War II history, but the heroism and bravery of the mission is only half the story. In Last Mission to Tokyo, Michel Paradis reveals the dramatic aftermath of the mission, which involved two lost crews captured, tried, and tortured at the hands of the Japanese, a dramatic rescue of the survivors in the last weeks of World War II, and an international manhunt and trial led by two dynamic and opposing young lawyers-in which both the United States and Japan accused the other of war crimes-that would change the face of our legal and military history. Perfect for fans of Lucky 666 and Nuremberg: Infamy on Trial, Last Mission to Tokyo is a thrilling war story-meets-courtroom-drama that explores a key moment in World War II.

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 039308065X
ISBN 13: 9780393080650

30 Sep 2020
Ian W. Toll

ISBN 10: 1982143347
ISBN 13: 9781982143343

09 Jun 2020
Chris Wallace

ISBN 10: 0465095380
ISBN 13: 9780465095384

14 Jul 2020
Roger Moorhouse

ISBN 10: 0358359929
ISBN 13: 9780358359920

14 Sep 2021
George Orwell

ISBN 10: 0008399476
ISBN 13: 9780008399474

14 Sep 2021
David Baddiel

ISBN 10: 1107030951
ISBN 13: 9781107030954

21 Feb 2020
Jonathan Fennell

ISBN 10: 0241988268
ISBN 13: 9780241988268

13 May 2021
Richard Osman

ISBN 10: 1982147636
ISBN 13: 9781982147631

08 Dec 2020
James Sullivan

ISBN 10: 0316422274
ISBN 13: 9780316422277

13 Aug 2020
Robert J. Mrazek

ISBN 10: 152474476X
ISBN 13: 9781524744762

03 Dec 2020
Kevin Maurer

ISBN 10: 006244851X
ISBN 13: 9780062448514

09 Jul 2020
Dick Lehr

ISBN 10: 1101874007
ISBN 13: 9781101874004

01 Sep 2020
Volker Ullrich