Suicide House

Suicide House

Description

An Apple Books Best of the Month Selection
A Publishers Weekly Summer Reads 2020 Editors' Pick
A Library Journal "12 Novels Featuring Protagonists on the Autism Spectrum" Selection

From #1 International Bestseller Charlie Donlea--A chilling murder in a prestigious prep school is at the heart of this riveting new suspense novel that's perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. Forensic reconstructionist Rory Moore and her psychologist partner, Lane Phillips, must chase down the truth behind the ghastly killings featured on the hit true crime podcast sweeping the nation. Can they uncover the hidden secrets of the school and the psychology of a killer before the next episode airs?

Inside the walls of Indiana's elite Westmont Preparatory High School, expectations run high and rules are strictly enforced. But in the woods beyond the manicured campus and playing fields sits an abandoned boarding house that is infamous among Westmont's students as a late-night hangout. Here, only one rule applies: don't let your candle go out--unless you want the Man in the Mirror to find you. . . .

One year ago, two students were killed there in a grisly slaughter. The case has since become the focus of a hit podcast, The Suicide House. Though a teacher was convicted of the murders, mysteries and questions remain. The most urgent among them is why so many students who survived that horrific night have returned to the boarding house--to kill themselves.

Rory, an expert in reconstructing cold cases, is working on The Suicide House podcast with Lane, recreating the night of the killings in order to find answers that have eluded the school, the town, and the police. But the more they learn about the troubled students, the chillingly stoic culprit, and a dangerous game gone tragically wrong, the more convinced they become that something sinister is still happening. Inside Westmont Prep, the game hasn't ended. It thrives on secrecy and silence. And for its players, there may be no way to win--or to survive. . . .

"Multiple intertwining story lines keep the pacing brisk and the tension high throughout. But the book's real strength is the idiosyncratic Rory, who suffers from OCD and is on the autism spectrum, a deeply developed character readers can't help rooting for. Hopefully, she'll be back soon."
--Publisher's Weekly

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 1496730003
ISBN 13: 9781496730008

31 Dec 2019
Charlie Donlea

ISBN 10: 1496713818
ISBN 13: 9781496713810

28 May 2019
Charlie Donlea

ISBN 10: 0786039183
ISBN 13: 9780786039180

28 Mar 2017
Charlie Donlea

ISBN 10: 059311034X
ISBN 13: 9780593110348

06 Apr 2021
Krystal Sutherland

ISBN 10: 1250249252
ISBN 13: 9781250249258

23 Mar 2021
Camilla Sten

ISBN 10: 0786042222
ISBN 13: 9780786042227

26 May 2020
Charlie Donlea

ISBN 10: 1529402654
ISBN 13: 9781529402650

30 Jun 2020
Silvia Moreno-Garcia

ISBN 10: 1408865564
ISBN 13: 9781408865569

26 Jan 2021
Samantha Shannon

ISBN 10: 1529033012
ISBN 13: 9781529033014

25 Jun 2020
Sandie Jones

ISBN 10: 0525560548
ISBN 13: 9780525560548

25 Feb 2020
Mikki Kendall

ISBN 10: 1952457645
ISBN 13: 9781952457647

19 Oct 2021
Jennifer L Armentrout

ISBN 10: 0063038935
ISBN 13: 9780063038936

05 Aug 2021
Shelby Mahurin