Orphan Collector

Orphan Collector

Description

Instant New York Times Bestseller

From the internationally bestselling author of What She Left Behind comes a gripping and powerful tale of upheaval--a heartbreaking saga of resilience and hope perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Kristin Hannah--set in Philadelphia during the 1918 Spanish Flu outbreak--the deadly pandemic that went on to infect one-third of the world's population...

"Readers will not be able to help making comparisons to the COVID-19 pandemic, and how little has changed since 1918. Wiseman has written a touching tale of loss, survival, and perseverance with some light fantastical elements. Highly recommended."
--Booklist

"An immersive historical tale with chilling twists and turns. Beautifully told and richly imagined."
--Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of America's First Daughter

In the fall of 1918, thirteen-year-old German immigrant Pia Lange longs to be far from Philadelphia's overcrowded slums and the anti-immigrant sentiment that compelled her father to enlist in the U.S. Army. But as her city celebrates the end of war, an even more urgent threat arrives: the Spanish flu. Funeral crepe and quarantine signs appear on doors as victims drop dead in the streets and desperate survivors wear white masks to ward off illness. When food runs out in the cramped tenement she calls home, Pia must venture alone into the quarantined city in search of supplies, leaving her baby brothers behind.

Bernice Groves has become lost in grief and bitterness since her baby died from the Spanish flu. Watching Pia leave her brothers alone, Bernice makes a shocking, life-altering decision. It becomes her sinister mission to tear families apart when they're at their most vulnerable, planning to transform the city's orphans and immigrant children into what she feels are "true Americans."

Waking in a makeshift hospital days after collapsing in the street, Pia is frantic to return home. Instead, she is taken to St. Vincent's Orphan Asylum - the first step in a long and arduous journey. As Bernice plots to keep the truth hidden at any cost in the months and years that follow, Pia must confront her own shame and fear, risking everything to see justice - and love - triumph at last. Powerful, harrowing, and ultimately exultant, The Orphan Collector is a story of love, resilience, and the lengths we will go to protect those who need us most.

"Wiseman's writing is superb, and her descriptions of life during the Spanish Flu epidemic are chilling. Well-researched and impossible to put down, this is an emotional tug-of-war played out brilliantly on the pages and in readers' hearts."
--The Historical Novels Review, EDITOR'S CHOICE

"Wiseman's depiction of the horrifying spread of the Spanish flu is eerily reminiscent of the present day and resonates with realistic depictions of suffering, particularly among the poorer immigrant population."
--Publishers Weekly (Boxed Review)

"Reading the novel in the time of COVID-19 adds an even greater resonance, and horror, to the description of the fatal spread of that 1918 flu."
--Kirkus Review

"An emotional roller coaster...I felt Pia's strength, courage, guilt, and grief come through the pages clear as day."
--The Seattle Book Review

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 1496730011
ISBN 13: 9781496730015

28 Apr 2020
Ellen Marie Wiseman

ISBN 10: 0062943472
ISBN 13: 9780062943477

01 Apr 2021
Kate Quinn

ISBN 10: 0735219109
ISBN 13: 9780735219106

30 Mar 2021
Delia Owens

ISBN 10: 1496733320
ISBN 13: 9781496733320

25 Jan 2022
Donna Everhart

ISBN 10: 1496726537
ISBN 13: 9781496726537

28 Jun 2022
Amanda Skenandore

ISBN 10: 1617734497
ISBN 13: 9781617734496

25 Jul 2017
Ellen Marie Wiseman

ISBN 10: 059333261X
ISBN 13: 9780593332610

23 Mar 2021
Lisa Scottoline

ISBN 10: 0451492196
ISBN 13: 9780451492197

06 Jan 2022
Susan Meissner

ISBN 10: 1787396053
ISBN 13: 9781787396050

01 May 2021
Kristin Harmel

ISBN 10: 0449006344
ISBN 13: 9780449006344

30 Jan 2001
Kristin Hannah

ISBN 10: 1914484002
ISBN 13: 9781914484001

22 Jun 2021
Kate Moore

ISBN 10: 0449226352
ISBN 13: 9780449226353

01 Dec 1996
Kristin Hannah