Nevertheless, She Wore It : 50 Iconic Fashion Moments

Nevertheless, She Wore It : 50 Iconic Fashion Moments

Description

From the creator of the bestselling Bad Girls Throughout History!

Celebrated
illustrator and author Ann Shen shares her striking study of history's
most iconic styles, and the women who changed the world while wearing
them.

From the revolutionary bikini to the presidential pantsuit,
this book explores 50 fashions through bold paintings and insightful
anecdotes that empower readers to make their own fashion statements.

* Demonstrates the power of fashion as a political and cultural tool for making change

* Brilliantly illustrated with Ann's signature art style

* Filled with radical clothing choices that defined their time

Looks
include the Flapper Dress, the unofficial outfit of women's
independence in the 1920s; the Afro, worn as a symbol of black beauty,
power, and pride; the Cone Bra, donned by Madonna in her 1989 power
anthem "Express Yourself"; and the Dissent Collar, Ruth Bader Ginsburg's
famous signifier for when she disagrees with the majority.

With
a stunning and vibrant package, this is a gift-worthy treasure for
anyone who wants to defy style norms and rewrite the rules.

* An insightful look at the intersection of fashion statements and historical female power

* Perfect for fans of Ann Shen, as well as anyone who loves fashion, feminism, and political consciousness

* Makes a great girlfriend, mom-to-daughter, aunt-to-niece, and friend-to-friend gift for birthdays, graduations, and holidays

* Add it to the shelf with books like Women In Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed The World by Rachel Ignotofsky; Strong Is the New Pretty: A Celebration Of Girls Being Themselves by Kate T. Parker; and Women Who Dared: 52 Stories Of Fearless Daredevils, Adventurers, And Rebels by Linda Skeers.

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 1452153930
ISBN 13: 9781452153933

06 Sep 2016
Ann Shen

ISBN 10: 1452163413
ISBN 13: 9781452163413

09 Jul 2018
Ann Shen

ISBN 10: 0500513600
ISBN 13: 9780500513606

25 Feb 2015
Daniele Bott

ISBN 10: 0062796763
ISBN 13: 9780062796769

17 May 2018
Kimothy Joy

ISBN 10: 0241397456
ISBN 13: 9780241397459

13 Oct 2020
DK

ISBN 10: 0399176136
ISBN 13: 9780399176135

21 Jun 2017
Maxwell Maltz

ISBN 10: 0525574549
ISBN 13: 9780525574545

05 Feb 2019
Elizabeth Weitzman

ISBN 10: 1452183309
ISBN 13: 9781452183305

18 Mar 2021
Ann Shen

ISBN 10: 1743797443
ISBN 13: 9781743797440

01 Jun 2021
Megan Hess

ISBN 10: 1743791712
ISBN 13: 9781743791714

08 Nov 2016
Megan Hess

ISBN 10: 1797201050
ISBN 13: 9781797201054

11 May 2020
Jade Purple Brown

ISBN 10: 1452169926
ISBN 13: 9781452169927

23 Oct 2018
Xabier Arakistain